Classes / Register

CERT Basic Training Classes

Basic CERT classes are offered twice each year. These classes are open to residents and employees of the Lamorinda area. Teenagers age 14-17 are welcome with a parent, guardian or Scout Leader.  We do ask for a commitment to attend all the classes in a series, including the drill; to maintain your skills through periodic practice and additional training; and to be ready to help your community in time of disaster. Class series are held each year in Lafayette, Moraga and Orinda on different days of the week. Each series is eight weekly evenings followed by a drill.

There is a non-refundable $25 registration fee. To those who attend the first four classes we will distribute, at no charge, a CERT specific medical supply kit of hard to find items valued at $29.31.

Scholarships are available for high school students to attend the CERT training. Inquire here.

What is included? The Lamorinda CERT curriculum is based on the FEMA standard CERT curriculum. We localize and enhance it to be appropriate for local residents. We spend little time talking about hurricanes but we cover earthquakes in detail. The subjects we cover are: personal and home preparedness for all-hazard emergencies, fire safety, disaster medical response, light search and rescue, Incident Command System, disaster psychology, terrorism, radio communications and pet preparedness. We do NOT teach CPR but encourage all to be CPR trained.

All times are listed in 24 hour format. 1830 = 6:30 p.m.

Winter 2018 Session –  Registration Closed  

DATEUNITSLOCATIONTIMEINSTRUCTORS
Tuesday, January 9, 20180, 1Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130Seibert, Nathan
Tuesday, January 16, 20186, 9Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130Seibert, Lothrop
Tuesday, January 23, 20182Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130Airola, Dick
Tuesday, January 30, 20183, 4aLafayette Community Center1830 to 2130Young, Kunzman, Airola
Tuesday, February 6, 20184Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130Young, Kunzman, Airola
Tuesday, February 13, 20185Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130Riggins, Young
Tuesday, February 20, 20185a, 10Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130Young, Kunzman, Breuner
Tuesday, February 27, 20187, 8Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130Macler, King
Tuesday, March 6, 2018DrillContra Costa Fire District Training Center1800 to 2200All instructors

Spring 2018 Session –   Cancelled

Fall 2018 Session –    Register

DATEUNITSLOCATIONTIMEINSTRUCTORS
Thursday, September 13, 20180, 1Orinda Library Auditorium1830 to 2130
Thursday, September 20, 20186, 9Orinda Library Auditorium1830 to 2130
Thursday, September 27, 20182Orinda Library Auditorium1830 to 2130
Thursday, October 4, 20183, 4aOrinda Library Auditorium1830 to 2130
Thursday, October 11, 20184Orinda Library Auditorium1830 to 2130
Thursday, October 18, 20185Orinda Library Auditorium1830 to 2130
Thursday, October 25, 20185a, 10Orinda Library Auditorium1830 to 2130
Thursday, November 1, 20187, 8Orinda Library Auditorium1830 to 2130
Thursday, November 8, 2018DrillContra Costa Fire District Training Center1800 to 2200All instructors

Winter 2019 Session –    Register

DATEUNITSLOCATIONTIMEINSTRUCTORS
Tuesday, January 8, 20190, 1Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130
Tuesday, January 15, 20196, 9Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130
Tuesday, January 22, 20192Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130
Tuesday, January 29, 20193, 4aLafayette Community Center1830 to 2130
Tuesday, February 5, 20194Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130
Tuesday, February 12, 20195Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130
Tuesday, February 19, 20195a, 10Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130
Tuesday, February 26, 20197, 8Lafayette Community Center1830 to 2130
Tuesday, March 5, 2019DrillContra Costa Fire District Training Center1800 to 2200All instructors

For more information, contact the Registrar.